Customer Service: 515.283.8700

Organizational Chart

In 1919, Des Moines Water Works (DMWW) was formed as an independently owned and operated public utility, deriving its legal status from the Constitution of the State of Iowa and the statutes enacted by the Iowa General Assembly.  Its legal authority is set out in Article III, Sec. 38A, Constitution of the State of Iowa; Chapter 388, Code of Iowa; and Division V, Chapter 384, Code of Iowa.  The Board of Trustees has all of the powers of the City Council to operate the utility, except for levying taxes. The utility is owned by the water rate payers. 

The Board of Water Works Trustees of the City of Des Moines, Iowa, consists of five members, appointed by the Mayor of the City of Des Moines for a term of six years. The Board of Water Works Trustees appoints Des Moines Water Works CEO and General Manager.

Board of Water Works Trustees

For more information on each member of the Board of Water Works Trustees, visit the Board page.

William G. Stowe, CEO and General Manager

Bill Stowe was appointed Des Moines Water Works CEO and General Manager by the Board of Water Works Trustees on August 21, 2012.  He graduated from Grinnell College with a Bachelor of Arts and received a Master of Science in Engineering from the University of Wisconsin, a Master of Science in Industrial Relations from the University of Illinois, and a Juris Doctorate Degree from Loyola University Law School. Most recently, Stowe served as Assistant Manager-Public Works/Engineering for the City of Des Moines, a position held since 1999.  Prior to that, Stowe was the Human Resources Director for the City of Des Moines, Operations Manager for MidAmerican Energy, as well as an analyst for Shell Oil, labor relations representative for Inland Steel Industries and a field examiner for the National Labor Relations Board. 

DMWW Organizational Chart


DSMH20 - DMWW Blog

For the latest news in water quality, customer service and other water-related hot topics, visit DMWW's blog.

Project H20

Project H20

Learn about DMWW's voluntary program to assist low-income households in the Des Moines metro.